A strong tradition of excellence exists within The Frederick Gunn School Boys' Ice Hockey program. Since the program's inception in 1918, the program has competed at the highest level with success. The program reached its pinnacle in the late 1980s and early 1990s (1987, 1988, 1990) when the Highlanders captured three New England championships in four years, followed by an official move to Division I status in 1995. The team recently carved out a rare niche in the prep school hockey world as an elite level program with a small school experience. Most all other top New England programs also find themselves categorized as 'large' based on student body population. Frederick Gunn provides a personalized, 'small' school experience with elite level hockey. Recent program success include ten consecutive 20-win seasons, seven consecutive NEPSIHA West titles (2008-2009 through 2014-2015 when the league disbanded), and six Elite Eight New England Tournament

Notable Alumni

Edsell Ford II '68 George Grande '64 Andrew Lack '64 Sam Posey '62 Jesse Soffer '03 Jonathan Tisch '72 Steven Elliot Tisch '68 Dick Wolfe '68 Justin Molson '87

Recent Alumni