NZ Prep Awards Announced

Neutral Zone is proud to announce our 2024 New England Prep Awards. Our New England staff were polled on who should win each award. As a group, we watched 216 Prep games throughout the season. We put little value in points and more in how we graded each player. There are plenty of other players who deserve recognition. There were some colorful conversations, and the players below are our final choices. Players that win major awards do not qualify for All Prep Teams. Rookies had to be 2007-2009s. Winning mattered in our decisions, so we waited until after the playoffs. However, only four players were changed due to playoff performance.

Most Valuable Player

Jack Sadowski, F, Kimball Union

This was the easiest selection as Jack was the best player on the best team. He played his best when it mattered, with a high hockey IQ, sensational hands, and a high compete level. Jack will play in the BCHL before attending UNH. He took a talented KUA team on his back to an Elite Eight Championship.

Forward of the Year

Jack Sadowski, Kimball Union

I some cases this may be different but Sadowski had no peer if you look at the totality of his season so he takes home both accolades. His post season was as impressive as his regular season.

Defenseman of the Year

Caeden Herrington, Holderness

Herrington led the resurgence of Holderness with one of the best seasons a defenseman has had in Prep hockey in some time. The 6’2″ + defenseman was dominant at both ends of the ice. He is mobile with a strong stick and can defend with physicality and excellent anticipation. He finished with 49 points in 29 games. He has NHL upside, as his athleticism is displayed every time he jumps over the boards. Vermont commit will play in the USHL before heading to the Green Mountain State.

Goalie of the Year

Marko Bilic, Cushing Academy

Marko lost only four games, all against Tournament participants: Elite Eighth #5 seed Holderness, Large School #2 seed Lawrence Academy, and twice to the Champion #2 seed Kimball Union. Bilic carried the entire load all season. He was 28-4 with a 93.8 save percentage and 1.21 GAA. Every NZ scout who the junior spoke consistently about his athleticism and upside. He had a terrific season; the best is yet to come for 2006. He is an Arizona State commit.

Rookie of the Year

Noah Survilas, Dexter

This is always tough, and we did not include PGs, only 2007-2009s for consideration. This was the closest award by far, with Survilas beating out David Bosco from Belmont Hill. Noah played a high IQ game with the ability to make quick passes. Survilas made his teammates better and competed with all he had in all three zones. His upside is high as he oozes athleticism. The very late 2008 also has the highest star rating of any award winner.

Coach of the Year

Allie Skelley, St. George’s

Skelley took to a team that lost 13 games in 2022-23 and went 23-4-1. St. George’s made the Elite Eight tournament for the first time, went 8-1 down the stretch, ending with an overtime loss to the ultimate Champions KUA on the road. His team played tough hockey with some key new additions. Coach Skelley added some swagger to a team that will become a destination point for young, talented players who want to compete in Prep Hockey.

All Prep First Team

F Gio DiGiulian, Kent

F Antoine Gauthier, Berkshire

F Sam LeDrew, KUA

D Andrew O’Sullivan, KUA

D Ryland Randle, Cushing

G Ryder Shea, St. George’s

All Prep Second Team

F Sean Gibbons, Brunswick

F Ryan Lucarelli, Canterbury

F Alex Pelletier, Avon Old Farms

D Dylan Hunt, Milton Academy

D Everett Baldwin, St. George’s

G Ethan Ramonetti, Groton

All Prep Rookie Team

F David Bosco, Belmont Hill

F Spencer Thornborough, Governor’s

F Carter Meyer, Rivers

D Brady Sloper, Belmont Hill

D Ryan Poirier, Kent

G Blake McMeniman, KUA

Photo Credit: Dan Hickling/Hickling Images